[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/ck/ - Food & Cooking

View post   

File: 20 KB, 300x188, cute_butt_by_yunior2009-d528m5d[1].jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
6063615 No.6063615 [Reply] [Original]

I know this probably gets asked a lot, but since there isn't a FAQ or anything, please excuse my faggotry.

I'm a directionless college student, and have been thinking about going into culinary arts.

Is it a bad idea?

How hard is it to get a job?

Will people not take me seriously?

Is it possible to make a decent living without getting super lucky or being great?

>> No.6063641

http://zaneheemi.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/never-ever-become-a-chef-advice-from-a-chef/

This is a decent article. That said, the "you're a piece of shit" section varies greatly depending on where you work. I have worked in places where that is the case, but everyone is extremely friendly with eachother at my current job. When shit gets stressful and people make mistakes everyone else just makes fun of them sarcastically, like middle schoolers would.

Anyway, it pays like shit and you need to put in a lot of years in order to be able to get to a position that won't pay like shit. And you need to be competent in order to get to that point. I think a lot of people romanticize being a chef because they like cooking at home, but would run screaming on their first day of working in a commercial kitchen because they didn't know what they were in for.

Like that dude in the article says, if the downsides of the career don't dissuade you then you are probably passionate enough to do it. You need to truly love cooking and to have strong ambition in order to be satisfied.