[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/diy/ - Do It Yourself

View post   

File: 283 KB, 1024x768, recycle-copper-wire.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
2049426 No.2049426 [Reply] [Original]

Hi DIY. I'm an electrician. For years I've been throwing my wire ends in the trash. A year ago, a drywaller asked me if he could keep my scarps. He told me his son (who had down syndrome) stripped them and saved enough money for a vacation to Thailand.
That planted a brain bug in my mind.
For the last year, I have been keeping my scrap copper and stripping it in my spare time.
I ended up with a car load of bare bright copper.
Yesterday, I took it to the scrap yard and made $1100 bucks CND. I've never been to a scrap yard before in my life. It was a great experience. Everyone was so friendly.
I can tell you: it is completely worth it.
This thread is a diary of what I have learned, my methods and tips for aspiring scrappers. Please feel free to ask for advice or give suggestions of your own.
For the record: I Iive in a major city in Western Canada. I mainly do commercial work but for the last year I have been doing residential renovations and various 'side' jobs.

>> No.2049446

>>2049426
How many hours of your time did it take to get that $1100?

>> No.2049452
File: 53 KB, 640x480, WIN_20210307_15_25_54_Pro.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]

I'm trying to send a bunch of photos from my phone to my laptop so I'll have some IRL photos to show you guys. before then, let me tell you a thing or two that I've learned:
1. Don't bother taking in any scrap aluminum or scrap steel (unless you have tonnes). The guy at the scrap yard said scrap steel is worth 60 bucks a tonne or something like that. Just throw that stuff out. It is not worth your time.