[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 225 KB, 800x1326, 800px-Gandhara_Buddha_(tnm).jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
19644204 No.19644204[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

I want to get into buddhism as a complete beginner, where do I start? what should I do beyond reading and meditation? do I need to join a monastery to achieve any progress towards enlightenment?

I have personally killed an animal in my life, will this bad karma prevent me from achieving sotapanna in this life? is there anything I can do to redeem myself? also can someone explain theravada vs Mahayana Buddhism to me? is theravada really considered a "lesser" practice? which is closer to what buddha himself taught?

>> No.19645157

>>19644204
>I have personally killed an animal in my life, will this bad karma prevent me from achieving sotapanna in this life?

Better luck next bardo pal.

>> No.19645166

>>19644204
>I have personally killed an animal in my life
Its over

>> No.19645211

>>19644204
>I want to get into buddhism as a complete beginner, where do I start?
Read Teaching of Buddha first. It will explain all the basic terms, and ideas of all the Buddhist paths, and tell you about the life of the Buddha. This book has been around for almost 100 years and is still being continually revised almost every year by the BDK Tokyo (Buddhist Book Trust).

https://bdkamerica.org/product/the-teaching-of-buddha-english-hardcover-edition/

>do I need to join a monastery to achieve any progress towards enlightenment?
No, but you should have a teacher. I have been practicing Buddhism for more than 10 years and unfortunately I have to tell you pretty much all Buddhist organizations and teachers are corrupted.

> is theravada really considered a "lesser" practice?