[ 3 / biz / cgl / ck / diy / fa / ic / jp / lit / sci / vr / vt ] [ index / top / reports ] [ become a patron ] [ status ]
2023-11: Warosu is now out of extended maintenance.

/lit/ - Literature

View post   

File: 49 KB, 459x600, 103234234.jpg [View same] [iqdb] [saucenao] [google]
3728249 No.3728249[DELETED]  [Reply] [Original]

How does one into philosophy?

I want to be able to prepare myself for Kierkegaard, Nietzsche Dostoevsky, etc so I can fully grasp what they're saying, but I have never read anything remotely philosophical (I'm pretty new to books in general, really). Where do I start?

Thanks

>> No.3728251

the greeks
always

>> No.3728267

>>3728249
historyofphilosophy.net

pre-socratics
socratics
plato
aristotle
post-aristotle

Prepare to read a lot of enjoyable books. You can get into some authors without having a dense background, but it will really help and if you like philosophy you'll like reading them anyway. Dostoevsky isn't a philosopher. You can boostrap your way into Nietzsche and Kierkegaard if you pick the right books and have a decent literary background (mostly the bible).

Start with the greeks. Use the link above. Find stuff you find interesting.

>> No.3728270

Greek shit and Bible shit. You can't into Western philosophy without a heavy dose of both.

>> No.3728284

Take intro courses to philosophy, ethics, logic, and metaphysics. If you can't afford that then find the intro texts to these and teach yourself.

>> No.3728288

>>3728251
>>3728267
>>3728270
The chronological way of reading philosophy is not necessarily the only one.